T2K Beam Group wins 2013 Suwa Prize

December 25, 2013

The T2K Neutrino Beam group was awarded the 2013 Suwa Prize by the FAS (Foundation for High Energy Accelerator Science), for their contribution to the discovery of electron neutrino appearance by creating and operating the highest intensity neutrino beam facility. The Beam Group is responsible for design, operation, and maintenance of  equipment that monitors the extracted J-PARC proton beam and directs it onto the neutrino production target, magnetic horns, and decay region. Congratulations colleagues!