T2K member Atsuko Ichikawa wins the first Yuasa Prize

December 25, 2013

Prof. Atsuko Ichikawa (Kyoto University) was named the first recipient of the Yuasa Prize, for women making exceptional research achievements in science. The prize commemorates Dr. Toshiko Yuasa (1909-1980), who made significant contributions to physics while working in France at the College de France and Institut de Physique Nucléaire d’Orsay. Prof. Ichikawa was awarded the prize due to her important contributions in the T2K experiment on the observation of electron neutrino appearance. Congratulations Ichikawa-san!